Hayden Powell (1983)

Hayden Powell_1_Photo-Anja Basma_small

Hayden Powell is a trumpet player and composer based in Oslo, Norway. Originally English, Powell moved to Norway as a child and grew up in Molde. He works in a variety of styles with an emphasis on jazz and improvised music, and has released two albums as a leader, The Attic (2011) and Roots and Stems (2013). A new album entitled Circadian Rhythm and Blues is set for release in late 2015.

Early years

Hayden Powell started his career as a 13-year-old member of the traditional jazz band Dixi from Molde. Tours of Norway and England and four albums with this band gave Powell a flying start to his musical life. In addition, Powell often performed with his father, who is a church organist. From 2002-2006 he studied at the Conservatory in Trondheim, earning a bachelor’s degree in jazz performance. During these years, Powell co-founded the band Magic Pocket with Erik Johannessen (trombone), Daniel Herskedal (tuba) and Erik Nylander (drums).

During this period, Hayden Powell Quartet played at the Trondheim Jazz Festival with trumpeter Kenny Wheeler as a guest. Powell also participated in several versions of the Trondheim Jazz Orchestra, including those led by Terje Rypdal, Erlend Skomsvoll and Eirik Hegdal. He received Molde Jazz Festival and Sparebank 1′s Jazz Scholarship in 2006 and Trondheim Jazz Festival’s talent prize in 2009.

Move to Oslo

In 2008, Hayden Powell moved to Oslo where he earned a master’s degree in jazz performance at the Norwegian Academy of Music (2009-2011). As a part of this degree, Powell worked with musicians such as Tore Brunborg, Jon Balke, Per Oddvar Johansen and Mats Eilertsen. In 2009/2010, Magic Pocket was awarded a grant that offered the opportunity to write a commissioned work for the Trondheim Jazz Orchestra at the Molde Jazz Festival. This was later released as the album Trondheim Jazz Orchestra & Magic Pocket – Kinetic Music (MNJ Records, 2011). 2011 also saw the release of Magic Pocket’s critically acclaimed debut album The Katabatic Wind (Bolage, 2011) with guest pianist/keyboardist Morten Qvenild.

Powell as a leader

Powell’s album The Attic was released in September 2011 to a full house at Nasjonal Jazzscene Victoria in Oslo, and great reviews. The album set the scene for Hayden Powell Trio, which alongside Powell consists of Eyolf Dale on piano and Jo Skaansar on bass. Drummer Jasper van Hulten, trombonist Erik Johannessen and saxophonist Tore Brunborg also contributed to the recording. Following this release, Hayden Powell Trio have played more than 60 concerts at Norwegian jazz clubs and festivals including Nattjazz and Moldejazz. They released Roots and Stems in 2013, this time also gaining attention from reviewers abroad. 2015 will see the release of Circadian Rhythm and Blues, a double album that contains both trio and solo work.

Recent years

Alongside his own bands, Powell has worked as a freelance musician based in Oslo, contributing to more than 30 albums to date. He worked with Finnish pianist/harpist Iro Haarla as a member of her quintet (w/Jon Christensen, Trygve Seim and Uffe Krokfors) and took part in her commission “Ante Lucem” performed and recorded with Norrlands Symfoniorkester in Umeå, Sweden. He recorded and toured with Solfrid Molland’s project “Katedral for Tapte Drømmer” (Kirkelig Kulturverksted), as well as shorter stints with musicians and bands such as Ola Kvernberg’s Liarbird, Albatrosh & Trondheim Jazz Orchestra and Terje Gewelt Spindrift. International collaborations include several projects with Estonian bassist Peedu Kass, the group 12 Percent featuring Canadian pianist Parker Shper, and musicians such as Joonas Riippa and Thomas Bachmann.


Selected discography

As a leader

  •          2011: The Attic (Inner Ear)
  •          2013: Roots and Stems (Periskop Records)
  •          2015: Circadian Rhythm and Blues (to be released in 2015)

With Trondheim Jazz Orchestra

  •          2006: Tribute (MNJ Records), with Vigleik Storaas
  •          2007: Live in Oslo (MNJ Records), with Maria Kannegaard Trio
  •          2009: Live at Moldejazz (MNJ Records), with Kobert
  •          2009: What if: A Counterfactual Fairytale (MNJ records), with Erlend Skomsvoll
  •          2011: Kinetic Music (MNJ Records), with Magic Pocket
  •          2011: Migrations (MNJ Records), with Øyvind Brække
  •          2013: Tree House (MNJ Records, with Albatrosh

With others

  •          2010: Jo Skaansar // Den Blåaste Natt (Talik Records)
  •          2011: Magic Pocket & Morten Qvenild // The Katabatic Wind (Bolage Records)
  •          2011: Jens Carelius // The Architect (Jansen Plateproduksjon)
  •          2011: Solfrid Molland // Katedral For Tapte Drømmer (Kirkelig Kulturverksted)
  •          2016: Significant Time // Regnbueponniens Significante Påskesang (Periskop)
  •          2016: Eyolf Dale // Wolf Valley (Edition Records)
  •          2016: Iro Haarla & Norlandsoperans Symfoniorkester // Ante Lucem (ECM)
  •          2016: DaMaNa // Cornua Copiae (Clean Feed)